accidental beauty

Standard

I love oxalis.  My dad introduced me to this hardy little plant when I was a kid and I’ve been in love with it ever since.   It is also known as wood sorrel or shamrock.  I have it in my yard and in pots on our patio.  It is a nice addition to plantings and comes back year after year.

This particular pot came about when Dean was enlarging one of our landscaped beds in June.    We were removing some of the oxalis and he had dug them up and set them on the ground.  We simply forgot about them and when I found them several days later, all the plants had fallen off and been turned under.  I didn’t know I had a mixed pile of legumes and just planted them.

Imagine my surprise when they all popped up like this.   What a pretty accident!  Some blooms are pink, some are white…but all are lovely.

“May your blessings outnumber
The shamrocks that grow,
And may trouble avoid you
Wherever you go.”
~Irish Blessing

About yarnigras

its the little things that bring me joy...my children's laughter, my husband holding my hand, Ginger's thump of her tail each and every time I see her. A jar of buttons or marbles, some pretty yarn; planting seeds and then watching them grow. Helping a turtle to cross the road, discovering tree frogs and toads in our yard...watching a snail meander across a potted plant or a ladybug run to the tip of my finger then fly away. The smell of hay, saddles and horses; finishing a project that I know will make someone happy, cooking someone's favorite meal, finding something for my garden...like a hummingbird's nest...how amazing is God's world!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

